Yorkshire's Independent Restaurant Guide

Food Writing Awards

Anna del Conte receiving her Lifetime Achievement Award from Nigella Lawson

Tonight the Guild of Food Writers held their awards ceremony at The Fishmongers Hall, London Bridge. I couldn’t be there, but I was delighted at the short list that owed nothing to celebrity chefs and TV tie-ins but celebrated  quality food writing.

We’ve praised Niki Segnit’s Flavour Thesaurus already on this blog and so are delighted to have our judgement confirmed with the Best First Book Award. We’re avid  followers of Felicity Cloake’s analysis of the perfect recipe in the Guardian. She picked up two awards, Food Journalist of the Year and New Media Award.

Caroline and Robin Weir’s book on ice creams is a well thumbed book on my shelf. We’re delighted that their new ice cream book  wins Cookery Book of the Year  award and finally we are delighted that Anna del Conte collects a Lifetime Achievement Award for her great collection of work on Italian food.

Below is the full list of the awards. Congratulations to all concerned.

Cookery Book of the Year Award

Caroline and Robin Weir, Ice Creams, Sorbets and Gelati: The Definitive Guide (published by Grub Street)




Food Book of the Year Award

Mark Diacono, A Taste of the Unexpected (published by Quadrille)




Jeremy Round Award for Best First Book

Niki Segnit, (published by Bloomsbury Publishing)




Kate Whiteman Award for Work on Food and Travel

Josceline Dimbleby, ards in the (published by Quadrille)



Miriam Polunin Award for Work on Healthy Eating


Valerie Twomey, (published by Atrium)




New Media of the Year Award
Felicity Cloake, for work published on The Observer’s Word of Mouth blog

Michael Smith Award for Work on British Food
Sybil Kapoor, for work published in Country Life

Food Journalist of the Year Award
Felicity Cloake, for work published in Fire & Knives and The Guardian

Evelyn Rose Award for Cookery Journalist of the Year
Mark Hix, for work published in The Independent

Restaurant Reviewer of the Year Award
Marina O’Loughlin, for work published in Metro and Fire & Knives.

Food Broadcast of the Year Award
BBC Radio 4’s The Food Programme: Pop-up London presented by Sheila Dillon and Tim Hayward

Derek Cooper Award for Campaigning and Investigative Food Writing or Broadcasting
BBC  Radio 4’s The Food Programme: The Fruit Industry presented by Sheila Dillon.